Spared or Spoiled Reviews: Room

The rules are simple. The good get spared. The bad get spoiled.

Room (A24)

Room Poster

Directed by Lenny Abrahamson

Written by Emma Donoghue  Based on Room by Emma Donoghue

Starring Brie LarsonJacob TremblayJoan AllenSean Bridgers & William H. Macy

Room is a heart-wrenching story of a woman held captive for several years in a garden shed that becomes home to her and the son she has with her rapist and kidnapper. It is hard to watch at times. I think I started crying about a minute in. But it is a great movie with two fantastic performances from the mother and son. This is not a movie. Room is an experience. One that I highly recommend.

Verdict: SPARED

Room cast

First of all, Brie Larson is incredible in this movie. I love her. I’ve loved her before. But I really love her now. This is an awesome performance. All of the emotions are there on the screen and all of the emotions are forced onto the viewer. Room is a cascade of emotions. A tour-de-force of crying your fucking eyes out. As a child of abuse, I think I started crying two minutes in. I started crying again when I realized why the title of the movie isn’t The Room but just Room and then again when fuck it… by the end of this film I needed fluids. Okay? No joke. Fan-fucking-tastic.

Jacob Tremblay in Room

But it’s Jacob Tremblay who is the true star and the main subject of Room. The movie is told from his character’s point of view and he has never seen outside room. He was born in room. And doesn’t even believe there is such a thing as outside of room. (I may cry right fucking now) He is in every scene and the movie is shot from his height and through his awareness of his surroundings and his experiences. It’s shocking. And it’s jarring. And it’s intense. And the very definition of heart-wrenching because it’s all through the eyes of a child. So we’re living it… or re-living it as him.

Brie Larson and Jacob Tremblay

It’s not giving anything away to let you know that they eventually get out of there. There are two parts to the film. In room and out of room. And it’s the similarities and differences in the two experiences that make the movie so good. I recommend it highly. Room is my favorite (non-action) film from last year. An incredible cinematic experience.

Room

Room is, as a matter of fact, one of the best films of all-time. Room is an insanely good movie. It really is. But if shit gets to you, then don’t even watch it. This movie made me so angry. And so sad. And so happy. And filled with such disgust. And such anger (did I mention the anger) And so scared. And so hopeful. And so incredibly drenched in tears.

Brie Larson in Room

Room is one of those movies that stays with you long after the credits are done and the awards have been handed out. And everyone’s patted themselves on the back for making such an emotionally powerful film. It is an amazing example of clever storytelling. Beautifully and skillfully directed, with two of the best performances of this century. Room is fantastic and that’s really all I can say. Except that there is nothing other than Room. Room is all there is.

Room is all there is

– Mel

6 thoughts on “Spared or Spoiled Reviews: Room

  1. I went into Room knowing very little about it. I kind of thought that the whole movie would be in Room but I’m glad that the story didn’t end with the escape. I really liked how the direction and script makes us aware of how the mom and son are confined at times even on the outside. Jacob Tremblay is an amazing, natural talent and those moments when he’s trying to process the reality of the world and the way it works are sooo good and heart wrenching.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes. There is a lot of great stuff in Room. I felt the same thing. If they’re basically in the room the whole time then it becomes a horror story. They escape at the end and they roll the credits but it is far from that. And some of the best moments take place once they’re outside. I didn’t know what to expect either and I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. YES! I’m so glad to hear from people who had the same sort of experience watching Room that I did. This movie is so damn powerful – I couldn’t stop thinking about it afterwards. And they’re both absolutely amazing in it but Tremblay is perfection. How was he not up for an Oscar? I still feel like bursting into tears just thinking about it. And about how much he wanted a dog!!!! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know about the Oscars sometimes. It’s all politics. I feel you on the bursting into tears. Usually with me when I see an emotionally powerful movie I never want to see it again. Kind of like, “That was good and all but I’m never putting myself through that again.” But with Room I could absolutely watch it again. It’s just amazing film-making. Thanks for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, the Oscars are definitely all politics. Drives me nuts (although I can’t help but still watch them). : ) I was trying so hard to not lose it in the cinema when I watched this. I can’t handle public crying! I almost had to get up & leave for a while. But I held on! I know what you mean – I’ll watch a heavy & depressing film once but never again. Room isn’t like that, though. I’ll be buying it (I used to buy DVDs ALL the time but it’s extremely rare that I do now) and I’ll be watching it again. And again. And maybe again. Everything with the boy is so heartbreaking yet so uplifting at the same time. It’s a weird combination.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Spared or Spoiled Reviews: 10 Cloverfield Lane | Mel Rook & The 7 Deadly Sins

Leave a Reply

