Top 20 Biggest Cinematic Disappointments of 2015

Looking back over a year’s worth of Spared or Spoiled Reviews, I noticed that there were a lot more spoiled than there were spared. It’s not me, it’s the movies. There were a bunch of extremely disappointing movies in 2015.

So here are 20 movies I reviewed that weren’t up to snuff. I’ve arranged them in order of disappointment. With the movies I had high hopes for ahead of movies I had little hope for. With the movies that were very bad ahead of the movies that weren’t really that bad.

So I’ve ranked my disappointment, you see. You get it, right?

I also include a link for each one to my original review. If I don’t, just click on the title.

To the list…

My Top Twenty Biggest Cinematic Disappointments of 2015 

At number one is the only movie on the list I did not review but hated just the same… I mention it in my What’s Good post under the headline of What’s NOT so Good.

1. Chappie

Chappie is crappy

Chappie is crappy. And I wanted it to be good. I really did. I had high hopes for the director, Neil Blomkamp. I loved District 9 and Elysium wasn’t all that bad. But Chappie was in fact crappy.

2. Jupiter Ascending

Jupiter Ascending Poster

Again. I love the directors. I’m a big fan of The Wachovskis. Jupiter Ascending was complete garbage… in every way. Click on the title for my review.

3. Ted 2

Ted 2 Poster

The first Ted was very funny. The second Ted… not so much.

4. Get Hard

Get Hard Poster

I wasn’t expecting much from Get Hard but it is one of the worst movies of the year, so disappointing (by definition).

5. American Ultra

American Ultra Poster

I wanted American Ultra to be good… it was not. Click on the title for my review.

6. Fantastic Four

Fantastic Four Poster

Wow was I disappointed with Fantastic Four but I kind of knew going in that it wasn’t going to be that good. It was horrible.

7. Hot Pursuit

Hot-Pursuit-Movie

I knew this would be one of the worst movies I would ever see. I had no idea it would be the worst movies ever made. I wrote…”(Hot Pursuit) is bad in every way a movie can be bad and then it invents new ways to be bad.” Can’t wait for Hot Pursuit 2.

8. Terminator Genisys

Terminator Genisys Poster

I thought this would be a return to form for The Terminator franchise. Needless to say I was disappointed. But I didn’t spoil it. I invented a new category for it: UNSPOILED.

9. Run All Night

Run All Night

They should have just made this Taken 3. But it was just as bad.

10. Aloha

Aloha poster

I knew it was going to be bad and it was bad. Not disappointing. Just bad.

11. Tomorrowland

Tomorrowland Poster

Tomorrowland was a big disappointment but the movie had its moments. Decent effects. A few great action sequences. Tomorrowland was bad but it wasn’t that bad.

12. The Voices

The-Voices

I knew nothing about The Voices going in but it was a little too much creepy for me and far too disturbing for its own good.

13. Jurassic World

Jurassic World Poster

What can I say about Jurassic World that I haven’t already said in my rant. You can find my rant here. It bothered me. It had its moments but it bothered me.

14. Kingsman: The Secret Service

Kingsman Poster

Wasn’t expecting a lot from Kingsman but I was hoping it would be fun and funny and exciting and cool. And it was none of those things. It was bad.

15. Z for Zachariah

Z for Zachariah poster

I saw this movie as a racist, ageist, sexist, horrendous political attack on science and Liberalism but maybe I was reading too far into it. Click on the title for my review .

16. Me and Earl and The Dying Girl

me-and-earl-and-the-dying-girl-film

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl really wasn’t that bad. It just wasn’t that good. My disappointment was that it started so well and then went off on a tangent.

17. Cinderella

Cinderella Poster

Didn’t think anyone could screw up Cinderella… but they did.

18. Dope

Dope-movie-poster

This movie was too silly for me. It was about my people and it was just too silly. Great music though. Really great soundtrack. Click on the title for my review.

19. Straight Outta Compton

Straight Outta Compton

Here’s another one with great music but a disappointing movie. A great beginning but it loses its way halfway through. If only they had concentrated on the music more.

20. Paper Towns

Paper Towns Poster

As much as I enjoyed The Fault in Our Stars, I expected more from Paper Towns. It was cute and I loved the characters, I just didn’t believe HER as a character, or a love interest. And the story doesn’t work without her. I think I would have liked the book better.

And that was my list of disappointments.

There were more bad movies in my 2015 than I would have liked, but I still had fun reviewing them. Don’t get me wrong, my favorite reviews are the ones where I love the movie. Where I absolutely love the fuck out of it. Those are the most fun. But when a movie makes me angry, those can be fun too.

So here’s hoping that the movies of 2016 are either incredibly good… or hilariously and horrendously bad. No middle ground.

Raise you glasses in the air.

“NO MIDDLE GROUND!!!”

Later,

– Mel

4 thoughts on “Top 20 Biggest Cinematic Disappointments of 2015

  1. I’ve managed to avoid most of these but I will still eventually see Terminator Genisys with low expectations. I’m a little surprised you didn’t like Dope, yes it’s very silly in places. I cracked up when they mocked the guy at the Seven Bucks Coffee who said “How am I supposed to eat my pound cake?” As for Straight Outta, I actually liked it. I do agree the second half wasn’t as strong, great music though.

    Like

    • It’s not that I didn’t like Dope it’s just that I wanted so much more from it. Maybe I’ll watch it again with a fresh perspective. I just remember it being insulting to me personally.

      As far as Straight Outta Compton, I believe the story is a great story. I just don’t think they made a good movie out of it. And I wished they played the entire songs (especially from the title album)

      I don’t know. They’re low on the list because I didn’t hate them. I just wanted so much more from both films.

      Thanks for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am with you on so many of these. A lot of the movies on my “most anticipated” list in 2015 didn’t make the “best of the year” list at the end of 2015. At least Star Wars didn’t disappoint, that would have been really hard for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • In a year with three films that will be on my Best of All-time list. Mad Max: Fury Road, Star Wars: The Force Awakens and The Martian, there were a lot of disappointments, but I think it evens out in the end. 2015 will be the year of some truly fantastic films.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

