Spared or Spoiled Reviews: The Little Prince

The rules are simple. The good get spared. the bad get spoiled.

The Little Prince (Paramount Pictures)

The Little Prince poster

Directed by Mark Osborne

Written by Irena Brignull & Bob Persichetti  Based on The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Starring Mackenzie FoyJeff BridgesRachel McAdamsPaul RuddMarion CotillardJames FrancoBenicio del ToroPaul GiamattiAlbert Brooks & Ricky Gervais

The Little Prince is an adorable film about a young girl preparing for her first day at a new school. A young girl with an overbearing mother. A young girl who befriends the elderly man next door, who tells her a story about a magical little prince. This is a great movie.

Verdict: SPARED

The Aviator and The Little Prince

“What have you got there?” “It’s a print-out of Mel’s review of our movie.” “Does he like it?” “I don’t know.” “Well what does it say?” “I don’t know. I can’t read.”

Everything about The Little Prince is amazing. From the beautiful old French songs to the animation style. It is a lovely little animated film about retaining your childhood wonder and not growing up too fast. The story is the classic, Le Petit Prince. And the American voice actors are all top-notch. It is touching, fantastic and enjoyable.

The Young Girl from The Little Prince

“Well this doesn’t make any sense at all. Why would he call it the seven deadly sins? He abandoned that format years ago. Just lazy I guess.”

The young girl is a little genius but her curriculum leaves little time for fantasy and fun. Her next door neighbor is an adult child; An elderly man who tells her a tale from his adventurous past, the tale of the little prince. He is a disaster. She is constantly in danger from his contraptions and his absent-mindedness and from his over-blown sense of adventure for a nonagenarian feeble-minded fool. Someone needs to alert the authorities.

The Old Man from The Little Prince

“Alert the authorities? Someone needs to alert your authorities. I’m perfectly capable of taking… oops. I soiled myself.”

But this is a fantasy and the police do a bad job of protecting the youngster. I’m being too practical and it’s a children’s fantasy. But sometimes I step outside these kids movie and think Amber Alert or at least “Can we get an adult please?” But he’s harmless and lovable and fragile and feeble and she’s constantly in danger. Seriously can we get an adult?

The Young Girl and her mother from The Little Prince

“… mmm. hmmm.” “…mmm. hmm.”

The Little Prince is so sweet and fun and such a nice little film with a clever and cute message, so I can’t fault it for a little child endangerment. It’s a cartoon. I know. I know. I’ve been searching for plot holes in my writing and it’s spilled over into my film appreciation skills. Of course at one point a man gets hit with a bowling ball dropped from a great height and isn’t pronounced dead instantly. So yeah It’s a fucking cartoon.

The Little Prince and his Rose

“I’m a kid sitting on a planet that’s too small for him talking to a flower that grew in space. So yeah, It’s not supposed to be realistic is it.”

I’m trying to say I liked it. But for some reason when I started writing I just started complaining for some reason. It’s a great film. No tears shed, but it is extremely touching and sweet. It’s very French and not just because of the wonderful soundtrack. The soundtrack had me dancing in my seat. But because one of the main characters is ninety something it also touches on death in a brilliant way. I recommend it highly as an adult. Well… as an adult child anyway. Ignore what I said before. It’s whimsical and fun.

The Little Prince

“I say. This review has confused the hell of me. I must be off. Ta.”

The Little Prince is sweet and funny and cool and beautiful and touching and heartwarming and very French and very sad and very happy at the same time. A wonderful movie.

– Mel

One thought on “Spared or Spoiled Reviews: The Little Prince

  1. Pingback: My 5 Favorite Fictional Women in 2015 (Film & TV) Mega Post | Mel Rook & The 7 Deadly Sins

Leave a Reply

