Songs That Define Me: Tool’s Forty Six & 2 (Kid’s Cover)

Hey guys,

A few posts ago I talked about not being able to define myself in words and wanting to use music. So I was going to post Ten Songs That Define Me. But then I thought, why should I limit myself or force myself into picking ten? Plus I wanted to find live versions of the songs or clever videos for the songs to make it interesting. And that’s where I ran into my problem. I didn’t want to just post the songs. But post some cool videos of the songs.

So instead of posting all of my “Songs That Define Me” in one post I’ve decided to make it into a series. If I find a good video I’ll post it and if I can’t find it I’ll record it myself and post me doing the song on acoustic or something. The first song was Mayonaise by Smashing Pumpkins. I posted that in my What’s Good post for early Summer.

But here is a great acoustic version of that song to make it official. Even though the video is flopped (backwards) and Billy cracks up toward the end. This is the best audio-visual example of that song being performed that I can find.

 

But this post is about the second song from my “Songs That Define Me” series. And trust me they won’t all be rock songs. But this song most definitely is. It’s Forty Six & 2 by Tool. And I found this insanely good cover by a group of kids from the O’Keefe Music Foundation. Covering Forty Six & 2 is difficult to begin with (It goes from 4/4 to 7/8, 5/8 & 3/8 overlapping the drummers amazing 7/8) so THIS is outstanding.

Kala Scarpinski

They say the song’s title refers to the next evolution of human DNA (we’re at 44 & 2 chromosomes) but I like to think of it (at least recently and personally) as my age and my time. It is a call to arms. I love this song. Actually this entire album is fantastic. Tool’s album Ænima is in my top ten favorite albums of forever and always. Take it kids…

 

I’m going to put up Tool’s version of their song but honestly I prefer my girl Kala Rose (Kala Scarpinski)’s vocals to Maynard’s (seriously I do).

Kala Rose

I’m also going to add her doing Sober with her current group from this year. (Forty Six & 2 was from 2013). This little girl is gonna be huge if she keeps rocking.

 

Anyway, I can totally see her as a rock star one day. But here is the original version of Forty Six & 2 by Tool… for comparison or just because it kicks ass.

Forty Six & 2

My shadow’s shedding skin.
I’ve been picking scabs again.
I’m down.
Digging through.
My old muscles looking for a clue.
I’ve been crawling on my belly.
Clearing out what could’ve been.
I’ve been wallowing in my own confused and insecure delusions.
For a peace to cross me over.
Or a word to guide me in.
I wanna feel the changes coming down.
I wanna know what I’ve been hiding in my shadow.
Change is coming through my shadow.
My shadow’s shedding skin.
I’ve been picking my scabs again.
I’ve been crawling on my belly.
Clearing out what could’ve been.
I’ve been wallowing in my own CHAOTIC and insecure delusions.
I wanna feel the change consume me.
Feel the outside turning in.
I wanna feel the metamorphosis and cleansing I’ve endured within my shadow.
Change is coming.
Now is my time.
Listen to my muscle memory.
Contemplate what I’ve been clinging to.
Forty-six and two ahead of me.
I choose to live and to grow.
Take and give and to MOVE
Learn and love and to CRY
Kill and die and to be paranoid and to lie
Hate and fear and to Do what it takes to move through.
I choose to live and to lie
Kill and give and to die
Learn and love and to Do what it takes to step through.
See my shadow changing, stretching up and over me.
Softening this old armor.
Hoping I can clear the way by stepping through my shadow,
And coming out the other side.
Step into the shadow.
Forty six and two are just ahead of me.

(Now is my time)

Thanks for listening.

Until we meet again,

– Mel

2 thoughts on “Songs That Define Me: Tool’s Forty Six & 2 (Kid’s Cover)

Leave a Reply

