Photos From Around the Block: Metropolitan Museum of Art

I spent most of yesterday at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. I’m exhausted and I still barely scratched the surface of that place. I was mostly in the European Paintings wing (post 1800). But I got around to all the exhibits. Including the Chinese costumes in the basement and the new Van Gogh paintings (that they did not let me photograph) and Visible Storage. I loved Visible Storage. I could have spent the entire day down there.

I have pictures from inside the museum and pictures from outside. Pictures with people and pictures without. A few artsy. A few abstract. And a bunch from Visible Storage. Have I mentioned how much I loved Visible Storage? It’s just shelf after shelf and case after case of stuff they didn’t have room for upstairs. I walked for miles and miles and my feet, they hurt like hell. But I had a great time and I’m going back… just after I let my feet heal a bit.

I ended the day with 329 photos. I cut that down to sixty; Forty good ones and twenty extras that I just wanted to post. So my trip to the Met will be a trilogy. Part one will be my favorite pics from the day. Part two will be the much-anticipated sequel. And part three will be like all part threes; not nearly as good as the first two, seemingly directed by a different person, and featuring a high-priced star who’s just phoning it in by that point.

And as is always the case… I didn’t learn a damn thing.

My poor feet.

To the pics.

A Couple

A Couple and a Coffin

Brush Strokes

Brush Strokes

Cloud Through The Window

Cloud Through The Window

Drawings

Drawings

Egyptian Cats

Egyptian Cats

Egyptian Pond Reflected Window

Egyptian Pond Reflected Window

Holding Up the Wall

Holding Up the Wall

Horses

Horses

I Want This In My Home

I Want This In My Home

Knights

Knights

Let Me Play You A Little Ditty

Let Me Play You A Little Ditty

Metropolitan Musem of Art

Metropolitan Musem of Art

Sax Man

Sax Man

Sculpture Hall

Sculpture Hall

Self Portrait with Creepy Guy

Self Portrait with Creepy Guy

Taking Pics

Taking Pics

The Precious

The Precious

This Girl

This Girl

This Kid

This Kid

View From The Balcony

View From The Balcony

That’s it for now.

– Mel

One thought on “Photos From Around the Block: Metropolitan Museum of Art

  1. Pingback: What’s Good? (Early Summer) | Mel Rook & The 7 Deadly Sins

Leave a Reply

