Point Break (2015) Trailer

It’s no secret how much I love the original Point Break (1991). It was my introduction to the kick-ass action of director Kathryn Bigelow. Yeah sure, Patrick Swayze, Gary Busey, Lori Petty, Keanu Reeves & The Red Hot Chillipeppers frontman Anthony Kiedis were not the best actors but the movie was fun and…

Point Break

100% pure adrenaline. So when I heard there was going to be a remake I scoffed at it. I actually scoffed. I don’t know if you’ve ever seen a scoff. This was a classic scoff.

Point-Break

But then  I saw the trailer and what can I say… the adrenaline is back.

The new Point Break (2015) looks more like an update. Better stunts. Bigger budget. Directed by a first timer, Ericson Core, cinematographer of The Fast and the Furious. And with none of the star power of the first film. Gerard Butler pulled out at last minute (insert sexual innuendo here). Replaced by Edgar Ramirez.

Luke Bracy and Edgar Ramirez in Point BreakHere’s the cast list…

Édgar Ramírez as Bodhi (Swayze)
Luke Bracey as Johnny Utah (Keanu)
Teresa Palmer as Samsara (Lori Petty)
and Ray Winstone as Angelo Pappas (Gary Busey)

No names, but at least these guys look like they can do the stuff in the movie.

Edgar Ramirez

And I got to say, the stunts this time around… wow. It’s like as if they took the film XXX with Vin Diesel and married it to every James Bond film from the 80’s and then those guys got into a three-way with the Kathryn Bigelow film (Shhh… it’s an open marriage).

Point Break 2015 Poster

And the Christmas Day release date makes me think Warner is very confident that they have a hit on their hands. And so am I. This looks good.

I see really good things.

– Mel

6 thoughts on “Point Break (2015) Trailer

    • Yeah. I wonder about the first time director. But he has experience with stylized action. And the cast hot (which is always good). Thanks for the comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

