Photos From Around The Block: After Fury Road

I saw Mad Max: Fury Road at my favorite theater. So I did what I did for Age of Ultron. I went to an afternoon show, so that when I left the theater the late afternoon sun would just be starting to make the colors pop. But this time I brought my whole kit with me because last time I only brought out one lens and found myself wanting.

I even got to see the old school again.

I even got to see the old school again.

Also this time around I walked downtown from Lincoln to Columbus past Julliard and Lincoln Center and past my old college. And I took a lot of pictures. These are twenty of my favorites, after I show you this pic of bananas and strawberries (my favorite fruit)

In NYC, the freshest fruit is in the street not in the stores.

In NYC, the freshest fruit is in the street not in the stores.

To the photos…

Watering the Clouds

Watering the Clouds

The clouds were beautiful today.

Bus Stop Sky

Bus Stop Sky

The blue sky and light clouds gave everything a bluish hue.

Sheet Music

Sheet Music

This one makes the buildings look like blank sheets of music. Or just rest after rest after rest after rest… silence notated. I loved the clouds.

An Airplane with Flare

An Airplane with Flare

But I didn’t spend the entire after noon staring at the sky.

Guy in  a Cart 1

Guy in a Cart 1

I stared at this dude. I like these two…

Guy in the Cart 2

Guy in a Cart 2

because it’s like I tilted it and then that happened.

Mid City Reflection

Mid City Reflection

Maybe it’s just me. I love the broken reflections on buildings.

Don't Block (me)

Don’t Block (me)

I called this one Don’t Block (me).

The Sun

The Sun

The reflection of the low sun off the buildings.

The Sun Too

The Sun Too

This one shows the low clouds and the sun.

The Old Empire

The Old Empire Hotel

I don’t know why I like this pic, but I do. Maybe it’s the nostalgia.

People Crossing the Road

People Crossing the Road

There are bunches of students everywhere in this area. Dancers, Artists. All over the place. They needed to put a sign. It’s easy to get run over by them. They’re scary.

The Circle and the Globe

The Circle and the Globe

Columbus Circle made me want a fish-eye lens to catch all the magic.

Shadows

Shadows

While Lincoln Square screamed for a zoom lens to people watch.

What is Starbucking?

What is Starbucking?

Each letter gets its own spotlight.

Above the Blue

Above the Blue

But that blue sky kept calling my name. I love these clouds. It’s almost like the wormhole opening up on DS9. (sorry non-nerds)

Upside Down

Upside Down

Right side up.

Columbus

Columbus

Check out Christopher’s bad-ass curved short sword. (yes I know. A lot of blood on that sword. If it were my choice this would be Harriet Tubman Circle)

Fountain Folks

Fountain Folks

It took me a while to get everyone to pose correctly for this one. But you’d be surprised how long New Yorkers will hold completely still for a complete stranger. (I’m kidding of course. New Yorkers are mean. Every single person in this picture will stab you)

The Blue

Feathered Clouds

But those feathered clouds really made my day.

I took sooo many pictures of the clouds.

So, the movie was good. I had a nice walk. Took some pictures that I actually liked.

What a lovely day.

Until next time,

– Mel

Leave a Reply

