Spared or Spoiled Film Reviews: Mad Max – Fury Road

The rules are simple. The good get spared. The bad get spoiled.

Mad Max: Fury Road (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Mad Max Fury Road Poster

Directed by George Miller

Written by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy & Nico Lathouris

Starring Tom HardyCharlize TheronNicholas HoultHugh Keays-ByrneRosie Huntington-WhiteleyRiley KeoughZoë KravitzAbbey Lee & Courtney Eaton

Let’s get right to it. This movie was amazing. The best of the year so far. The best Mad Max movie and having said that it goes without saying, George Miller’s best as well. Beautifully shot from the first frame to last. Great acting. Wacky as all hell. Exciting as all get out. Fantastic. And never was a movie more made for 3D than Mad Max: Fury Road. It is amazing. Wow. This is just my first paragraph. Where do I go from here? Well obviously I’m not gonna spoil it. I guess I’ll just talk about the elements that really work and how George Miller just became one of my favorite directors. Yeah that sounds about right.

What a Lovely Day

Verdict: SPARED

Fury Road war party

Hot rods, Muscle cars, Mack Trucks and Motorcycles… What a lovely day.

My three favorite elements of Mad Max: Fury Road are the Photography, Performances and Music. I’m gonna start with the music because outside of a movie musical or band bio I’ve never seen music handled in this way. George puts the band on-screen. (maybe I have seen it done that way before because now that I think about it sounds familiar) It’s mostly heavy metal riffs and Kodo drums played over light orchestral strings but it is a beautiful and powerful and, because the guitarist and the Kodo drummers are in the movie, it’s pretty damn wonderful and kind of freaking cool.

Mad Max Fury Road Tom Hardy Muzzled Blood Bag

“I’m not the one who needs the muzzle.”

Tom Hardy (slated for two more of these bad boys) takes over for Mel Gibson and does a stellar job although he’s three down the list of the best performances in this movie. He brings a little of Mel to his take on Max but makes it his own. The Mad Max movies are wacky. It’s a post- post- post apocalyptic desert-scape where the human race has been affected by radiation and the world is inhabited by tons of crazy characters. Some of them quite Mad. We’re all mad here.

Mad Max Fury Road Charlize Theron and Nicholas Hoult

“Who’s he calling mad?” “I think he’s referring to you, baldy.”

Nicholas Hoult plays a “War Boy”. An infected kid destined to live a half-life, used as warriors and hunters. He is outstanding. And Charlize Theron is great as well. She doesn’t have to earn her Oscar every time out. But she can still act her ass off. But then also there is this rogues gallery of hideously hysterical and over the top villains. Like something out of Frank Herbert. (George Miller needs to direct ALL the Dunes… after he directs all the sequels that is)

Fury Road

“Direct all the dunes. Direct all the dunes. Direct All The Dunes? Are you mad?”

And the weapons and contraptions and gadgets and modifications and the cars and the chases and the stunts. And cool death after cool death at high speed. WHERE DO I SIGN? This is my new favorite driving movie. And the character development at break neck speeds. Relationships and rivalries and the way they change and evolve and how survival and a lack of resources effect everything everyone does. And it’s all unspoken. I loved this fucking movie.

Charlize Theron one-armed bad-ass

“We get it. You liked the movie. Now shut it.” 

Let me just make a list here. Great writing. Great performances. Beautiful imagery and music. Great directing. Funny, wacky, exciting, explosive, loud as hell. Cool. Interesting. I think the only time George stumbles is when he tries to bring the sexy. “Add a few scantily clad models.” Check. (I’m not complaining) And I forgive him. You hear that George? I forgive you for putting hot girls in my action movie.

Nicholas Hoult

“You shut the hell up!”

Mad Max: Fury Road is phenomenal.

I’m done.

– Mel

16 thoughts on “Spared or Spoiled Film Reviews: Mad Max – Fury Road

  1. Great review! I have yet to see a negative one but apparently some men’s rights activists are trashing this movie. WHAT?! Their loss. This is the best movie I’ve seen in a long time. Loved it!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Men’s rights. Those guys are a joke. Men’s rights? They have the right to remain silent. And if they choose not to use this right, I have the right to ignore them. They need to stop trying to move the progress train in the other direction before we kick them off completely.
      I was thinking that if you replace the sand with salt water, Fury Road would be an amazing high seas pirate adventure, But as it is it’s a high speed pirate adventure. I can’t wait to see how well it does. I think it may break some records before the summer’s over. Thanks for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

    • It’s good. Full immersion is probably the best because it’s a treat for the senses. But I don’t think it would lose too much on a home theater… if you have good sound. It truly is a work of art.

      Like

    • Yeah. George found the sweet spot between zany and exciting. An action film with characters that feel three-dimensional and an artsy visually stunning film but with lots of explosions. I’m still buzzing about it. I wonder if Tomorrowland will even be able to compete.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My 5 Favorite Fictional Women in 2015 (Film & TV) Mega Post | Mel Rook & The 7 Deadly Sins

Leave a Reply

