Photos from Around the Block: The Cloisters

My trip to the museum continues with Inside The Cloisters. Warning: if you’re very religious you might want to take a chill pill before continuing with this post. We’ll wait…

I’m not making fun of your religion. I’m just having fun.

DSC_0773

This chick nearly got me in trouble. Because my camera flash went off and there’s no flash photography inside. And she’s like “Oh you’ve given me a headache. I’m calling the guards. Guards?” I had to pay her off. I gave her a nickel. She was ecstatic.

DSC_0794

The stained-glass didn’t need flash.

DSC_0775I took a few pics of the covered windows.

DSC_0797 Love the stained-glass windows. All the windows really…

DSC_0828But especially the ones without glass.

DSC_0839

Screw the art. The building itself was gorgeous.

DSC_0832

The doors and fixtures…

DSC_0767And shadowy places.

DSC_0826The ghosts that roamed the halls.

DSC_0825Look at these tiny doorways. These monks must have been tiny guys.

DSC_0843There are several chapels all throughout the place.

DSC_0824And of course, Jesus is prominently featured.

DSC_0820

Here he is on a donkey… on a cart.

DSC_0778And there’s lots of Jesus and Mary combinations.

DSC_0811This was my favorite because Mary is all like “Don’t talk to that bitch, Jesus. We hate her.” But baby Jesus be all like “Hey girl. How you doin?”

DSC_0821Here’s Mary asking for a refund. “This Jesus has only one arm. I demand to speak to your manager. What sort of place are you running?”

DSC_0835Pay me no mind. I’m just being silly.

DSC_0816This guy knows what’s up. He’s just out playing Frisbee w/ his dog in this bad-ass cloak.

DSC_0800Here’s some art. And some people. There were people there too.

DSC_0777Here’s some treasure.

DSC_0790

Here’s some dead people.

DSC_0793

This dude was my favorite.

DSC_0827And this was my favorite picture.

I guess you can tell I didn’t read any of the descriptions. I was having too much fun to make it into a lesson. I live nearby, so I’ll probably go back. The gardens are beautiful. I didn’t want to take pictures in the gardens because all the people were chilling.

For my next trip I want to make it down to the actual Met. And see the permanent collection. Maybe get some pictures. Piss off some guards. You know, the usual.

Until next time,

– Mel

8 thoughts on “Photos from Around the Block: The Cloisters

  1. “Screw the art. The building itself was gorgeous.”

    Hehe, I love this line. The art looks priceless, but I love love LOVE that style of architecture, and the photo above that line I quoted is my favourite. That one and the last one look amazing 😀

    My home town (Adelaide, Australia) is filled with buildings of this style, I love the look of them. Seeing photos like these ones reminds me that I need to get out more with my camera!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Those are two of my favorites too. I hope you do take your camera out. And post ’em to your blog so we can get to see Adelaide. I bet it’s beautiful. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

