Liebster Award: (33 Questions Yours, Mine & Theirs)

I got one of those blog awards I see other people get. I’ve never gotten one before. So I’m going to take part. I’m just gonna dive right in.

I went looking on the internet and I found a few different sets of rules for this particular award. I keep saying award because that is the accepted term but it’s more of a virtual and infinite conversation stick that you hold while speaking then break into multiple segments and pass along to bloggers about whom you wish to know more.

I like it. It’s no secret that I’m unskilled at social interaction on and offline. So, there are blogs that I’ve followed for years that I still couldn’t say whether the writer was male or female, where they lived or the specifics of their particular demography. I’ve never been much of a good neighbor (on or offline).

Liebster Award

So thank you Veronika’s Film Reviews for giving me the chance to do this thing badly.

First the rules:

1. Post the Liebster Award graphic on your site.
2. Thank the blogger who nominated your blog for a Liebster Award and link back to their blog.
3. The nominee is asked to write 11 facts about themselves so people who discover their blog through the Liebster post will learn more about them.
4. In addition to posting 11 fun facts about themselves, the nominee should also answer the 11 questions from the post of the person who nominated them.
5.The nominee will in turn, nominate 11 other blogs with 200 or less followers for a Liebster Award by posting a comment on their blog and linking back to the Liebster post.
6. The nominee will then create 11 questions of their own for their nominated bloggers to answer in their Liebster post.

I’m going to cheat on numbers 3 & 4 and just post, as my facts, the answers to the questions that Veronika was asked.

1. When it comes to movie productions, is bigger always better?
I’m a big movie fan and I mean that in scope as well as degree. I’m a big blockbuster guy but there is nothing I hate more than a big-budget wasted on a crappy movie. (and that’s about 90% of them) But when they are done well…

2. If you could be a wrestler, what name or gimmick would you give yourself and what would your finishing move be?
If I were a wrestler my finishing move would be to tap the canvas and pick up my check. It’s all fake anyway. (and I’m a lover not a (fake) fighter)

3. What song, if any, has made you cry?
Fragile by Sting… honestly, waterworks
Now you got me thinking about that song

“Perhaps this final act was meant to clinch a lifetime’s argument; that nothing comes from violence and nothing ever could. For all those born beneath an angry star, lest we forget how fragile we are.”

4. If you were to write an autobiography, what would the title be? 

Crackhead’s Got No Rhythm

5. What do you fear most about getting old?
Death (plain and simple). And not just death but dying without having apologized to the people who will have to clean up after me when I’m gone. I’m a mess and I made a mess of my life.

6. If you could swap gender for a day, what would be the one thing you would most look forward to doing?
I can’t answer this question without being crass. So I’m going to keep this one to myself. I’m sorry if the implication alone is offensive.

7. Is there any possession – childhood or otherwise – you simply cannot throw away, regardless of its current dilapidated condition?
I have parted with everything I’ve ever owned. By choice or by force or by necessity. My cat… maybe? But I guess I don’t really own her. Nothing. Nothing at all.

8. If the opportunity arose for you to have memory erased of just one film so you can watch it again for the first time, what would that film be?
Star Wars. The opening moments of Star Wars. I remember seeing it for the first time and the memory is nice but I’d love to actually relive it.

9. What song do you want played at your funeral?
Reach Down by Temple of the Dog (absolutely love that album) but I want to be the one performing it… by hologram or something. After the eulogies and the moving tributes from hundreds of friends, celebrities and well-wishers, His Holiness will address the crowd saying, “And now Mel, himself, has something to say to you all…”

HEADPHONES ALERT: (That’s Stone in the left speaker and Mike in the right)

(I suppose I should get to work recording that hologram shouldn’t I?)

10. What was your favourite subject at school and why?
Anything artsy or creative. When I was in school there were art programs and music. But today in America those are all but gone. I also liked science, math and lit.

11. If you could be reincarnated as an animal which one would you choose?
That’s a really tough question because at this point there are few animals that aren’t suffering from what human beings are doing (or not doing). I would either be in a cage, a gilded cage, hunted for food, for sport or watching the erosion and pollution of my home without opposable thumbs or a voice to raise in horror. Being reincarnated as an animal at this point in the planet’s history is akin to damnation. (did I just get too serious?) A bear, I guess. A big old solitary black bear that you find chilling in your backyard pool.

Okay now on to Veronika’s questions

1. What was your favourite book when you were a child?
Interview with a Vampire by Anne Rice

2. What is your favourite TV show and why do you love it?
Doctor Who because of all the things I watch on TV it is the one that I look forward to the most, every year.

3. Who is your favourite film director?
Stanley Kubrick I suppose. This is another tough question but since most of my creative heroes disappoint me artistically at some point in their careers, I choose Stanley because he never did.

4. Which film from the Criterion Collection is your favourite and why?
I do not know what that is. Are there any Hitchcock films in it? Because if so then Notorious (1946) by Alfred Hitchcock. Love that movie so much.

5. Do you have your favourite film period or a movement? If so, what do you like the most about it?
French New Wave or Hong Kong Gun-fu or 70’s Dystopian Sci-fi… Cool. I like a movie with a well-defined sense of cool.

6. To which film festival do you pay the most attention to every year (no matter from which part of the world it is) and what about it do you particularly like or respect?
I don’t really. Tribeca. I guess. Because it’s local. Or Cannes because it’s the granddaddy of them all.

7. What kind of music do you like and what’s your favourite band?
I like a lot of different styles of music. I don’t really have a favorite. I started listening to Metric recently. (recently means the last few years) So I’m listening to that right now. Here’s an acoustic version of their song Satellite Mind:

But what I go back to a lot is: Miles & Coltrane, Mozart and Soundgarden.

8. Do you play any instruments and if so, which one? If not, is there any instrument that you particularly like and would like to learn how to play someday?
My step-dad taught me to read and play music when I was very little. We had a music room and I would play everything in it and since I was young I picked them up pretty quickly. Piano, Drums, I had my Clarinet, picked up the guitar later. I play a lot of things adequately. I play nothing well.

9. What was the most fascinating place you ever travelled to?
I can’t answer this question the way it was intended. The most fascinating place I’ve ever been was a large homeless underground enclave in the middle of NYC. But that was more descended into and less travelled.

10. Where would you live if you could live anywhere in the world?
It doesn’t really matter. I would spend most of my time inside anyway. So a big city with 24 hour deliveries of pretty much anything and good public transportation… I already live in NYC. So any major metropolis like it. Paris, London, Hong Kong, Tokyo, Stockholm…

11. Why did you start writing a blog and what’s your experience with blogging so far?
When I’m not writing anything I still need to write… something. And I can go months without talking to another person, so it’s a place to put my (well-edited) thoughts.

And here are my nominees: I follow about 80 blogs on WordPress and I don’t really know how many followers anyone has. I just chose the ones that I interact with most.

If you don’t already follow the following 9 blogs, now’s the time.

emmakwall (explains it all)

Sidekick Reviews

The Triple Option

Mesh The Movie Freak

THE GIRL THAT LOVED TO REVIEW

Cinema Parrot Disco

Simply Film

Polar Bears Watch TV

And any commenting regulars who don’t have active blogs, or don’t want to post this on their blog, can answer these questions in the comments.

And here are my 11 questions:

1. If you could be any character from classic literature who would you be?

2. If you could bring back any cancelled TV show in television history what show would you bring back or reboot?

3. What director or filmmaker, if any, do you dislike so much that you will absolutely never watch any of their films?

4. If you ever won a major award (Oscar, Tony, Nobel, Pulitzer, etc.) who, other than the people who technically helped you, would you thank in your acceptance speech? (ie. teachers, friends, family)

5. If you could go back in time, what world leader from history (or current leader) would you depose or prevent from coming to power? (you can say Hitler if you absolutely need to. But I mean other than Hitler)

6. Write down your favorite movie line or quote.

7. What are your favorite movie theater snacks? Or do you not eat at the theater? Or do you bring your own snacks from home? 

8. If you could live in any fictional or mythological city (Books, TV, Comics, Movies) where would you want to live?

9. What toy or game from childhood have you NOT grown out of? or what toy or game do you wish you still played?

10. Would you rather be incredibly strong but kind of slow-moving or incredibly fast-moving but weak? and why?

11. What writer or philosopher from history do you wish was an active blogger? And why?

I want to apologize if this feels more like a chain letter than a conversation. It was not my intention to hand out work and I won’t be offended if you just ignored it (or left your answers in the comments).

– Mel

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award: (33 Questions Yours, Mine & Theirs)

  1. Congrats on your Liebster award! Great reading your answers, I’m also a fan of Metric! And thanks for including me as one of your nominees.
    Here are my replies to your questions ….
    1. This is really hard because I don’t read much classic lit and it doesn’t go well for many of those characters that I know of. I’ll go with Sal Paradise.
    2. Firefly, cancelled too soon.
    3. M. Night. Signs was the last movie I saw of his, nothing else since is of any interest to me. 🙂
    4. Parents
    5. Tough question, there are lots of evil dictators or leaders past and present. Let’s go with Hitler. Sorry.
    6. Ripley: “Get away from her you bitch!”
    7. I rarely eat at theaters and I try not to drink too much before the movie
    8. Sunnydale, despite the high mortality rate
    9. Do video games count? I’ve out grown everything else.
    10. I’d rather be fast like a ninja than an easy-target. I’m used to being weak.
    11. Joss Whedon, because he’d write about stuff that I’d actually be interested in reading haha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey congrats on the award and thanks for mentioning me! You’ve posed some tough questions, but I will try and answer:

    1. The few classic books I really like and remember don’t have characters I am looking to swap places with. I’ve got nothing.
    2. Tough call. A lot of my very favorites got runs I can accept. Veronica Mars is always an option though I’m grateful for the movie. Happy Endings is one I’d love to see more of. It got cut down in its prime. I’d go with it I suppose.
    3. I’m not a much of a movie watcher so perhaps you will let me tweak this for games. I will likely never play a moment of a game by David Cage again. His games want to be movies, so maybe that is close enough.
    4. My parents. They’re the best.
    5. Hitler, mostly because I’m too lazy to think of another answer!
    6. I like this Garden State quote: “You gotta hear this one song. It’ll change your life, I swear.” It didn’t change my life, but its soundtrack was one of the things that shaped my music tastes from then on.
    7. I used to like these things called Cookie Dough Bites they sold at my theater, but I don’t usually eat anything there now.
    8. Over there in Fringe seemed pretty cool. I will go with that.
    9. I still play with LEGO. They are awesome.
    10. Let’s go with fast. It seems like it’d be more fun.
    11. I went to school for math, so someone like Euclid would be cool.

    Sorry for copping out of a few of these questions! Also hooray for Metric! They are my favorite band!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 1. Atticus Finch

    2. Deadwood. Just one more season.

    3. Uwe Boll is terrible. And recently, I’ve developed an intense dislike of Zack Snyder because of Man of Steel, whereas my opinion of Tyler Perry has improved because of Gone Girl (but to be fair, he’s still a really bad director).

    4. I would thank Jon Hamm. I don’t know why, it was just the first name that popped into my head.

    5. Currently? Robert Mugabe.

    6. “I am serious…and don’t call me Shirley.”

    7. Welch’s fruit snacks. And popcorn.

    8. I think I’ll go with what Matt said up there: Over There from “Fringe”.

    9. Not sure. Although I still do find stuffed animals to be very cute, not gonna lie.

    10. Fast, because I’m not a big fan of slow

    11. Albert Camus. Would be pretty interesting. I also consider some of Louis CK’s stuff to be very philosophical, so reading his blog would be great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

