Oscar Picks and Anti-Picks 2015

These are My Oscar Picks and My Anti-Picks. Who I want to win in each category and who I do not want to win. Who I’m rooting for and who I’m rooting against. Who I love and who can suck it. You get the point.

To the list…

Best Picture

I saw 7 of the 8 nominees (all but Selma – please don’t take my race card) and I get the feeling that Boyhood will win this year. Which is good because…

My Pick: Boyhood

My Anti-Picks: American Sniper (Please no) and Selma (That’s right I said it) Both of these movies would be political picks and I hate it when the Academy does that.

Best Actor

I saw 4 of the 5 nominees (all but Foxcatcher [I think Carrell’s nose scared me off]) and if Eddie Redmayne doesn’t win then there is something seriously wrong with the process.

My Pick: Eddie Redmayne in The Theory of Everything

Eddie Redmayne

My Anti-Pick: Anyone but Eddie Redmayne would be disgraceful. Especially if it’s Bradley (mumbles a lot) Cooper (not to pick on American Sniper [thank you for your service]).

Best Actress

I saw only 2 of the 5 nominees (The Theory of Everything and Gone Girl) but I’ve been a big fan of Julianne Moore for years and it looks like a slam dunk.

My Pick: Julianne Moore in Still Alice (but I haven’t seen it)

My Anti-Pick: I love all five of these women and even though I hated Gone Girl (with a passion) I thought Rosamund Pike did an amazing job.

The Happy Couple

Resse and Marion already have Oscars (with more to come for both women) and a Julianne Moore win would make me happy.

Best Supporting Actor

I saw 3 out of 5 of these. And I love all these guys as well, but if J.K. Simmons doesn’t leave with an Oscar there’s gonna be hell to pay.

My Pick: J.K. Simmons in Whiplash

Are You Out of Tune

My Anti-Pick: Ethan Hawke. Some say it is the concept of Boyhood that got it nominated for best picture and I agree. It’s the concept that makes it the best picture of the year. But I feel like the actors got nominations because of the concept as well and that I do not agree with because the Oscars like to reward people who age on film when it’s acting. But this was just aging. Everyone can do that. I just did it while writing this paragraph.

Best Supporting Actress

I saw 4 out of 5 (I haven’t seen Wild yet). Looks like Patricia Arquette will win this one but I strongly disagree (see above). Kiera Knightley is great in Imitation Game (especially at the end) but the eyes have it for me. Emma Stone’s eyes in Birdman are heartbreaking and hopeful at the same time and those two make the movie for me… also we love her.

My Pick: Emma Stone in Birdman

Emma Stone

My Anti-Pick: Meryl Streep (why is she even nominated. Is this some kind of a joke?)

Best Animated Feature

I only caught 4 out of 5 of these (and no, I’m not going to mention The Lego Movie again… oops) But of the four I did see the best by far was…

My Pick: The Boxtrolls

Eggs and his adopted family

My Anti-Picks: How to Train Your Dragon 2  and Big Hero 6 (yeah… no. Don’t reward mediocrity) But I get the feeling there is more politics in the Animated Feature category than there is in the Best Picture category.

The Boxtrolls!  The Boxtrolls!  The Boxtrolls!

Best Director

4 out of 5 again (Still haven’t seen Foxcatcher since you started reading this) Here again is a case where Richard Linklater (and I love him) could win this category based on the Boyhood concept. I wouldn’t award him for that here but in Best Picture.

My Pick: Alejandro G. Iñárritu for Birdman

Michael Keaton as Birdman

My Anti-Pick: Richard Linklater.

Birdman is superb directing. It’s an acrobatic logistic and majestic ballet of insane proportions and please please please please please see it the way I do, because it would be a crying shame if it didn’t take the prize here. And the way I see it, only Boyhood could spoil that. Unless these two split the vote and Wes Anderson sneaks in to steal it.

Cinematography

This one is tough because I only saw 2 of the 5 films and although the cinematography in Wes Anderson’s masterpiece is masterfully masterful, everything about the camera work in Birdman is phenomenal.

My Pick: Emmanuel Lubezki for Birdman

My Anti-Pick: I don’t have one. I haven’t seen most of these, so I can’t judge. I wouldn’t mind it if The Grand Budapest Hotel won here. It is gorgeous.

Costume Design

4 out of 5 (I haven’t seen Mr. Turner) This is a tough one because you have your period costumes and you have your fantasy costumes. Maleficent has beautiful costumes but so does Inherent Vice with that wonderful 70’s look. However the standout for me…

My Pick: Milena Canonero for The Grand Budapest Hotel

THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL film

My Anti-Pick: I don’t have one here either. Of the 4 I did see, they are all well-dressed movies with beautiful costumes. I think Budapest takes this one because that bellboy costume is probably going into the Smithsonian… seriously.

Documentary Feature and Short Feature

I haven’t seen any of these. (I’m not bragging) but I’m going to make picks here based on subject alone. (don’t pretend that’s not how people do it)

Documentary Feature: Last Days in Vietnam Rory Kennedy and Keven McAlester (From what I’ve seen this is heartbreaking and depressingly topical. About the fate of the people left behind when America pulls their troops and admits defeat)

Documentary Short Feature: The Reaper (La Parka) Gabriel Serra Arguello (About slaughterhouses and the desensitization that comes from being constantly surrounded by the death and suffering of the animals we consume)

Film Editing

Woohoo! I’ve seen ’em all. But I’ll take that woohoo back because… Where the hell is Birdman in this category? Did they honestly think there were no edits in Birdman. And the fact that they could think that, is exactly why it should be in this category. Seriously my pick is Birdman but it wasn’t even nominated. So…

My Pick: Tom Cross for Whiplash

Miles Teller and J.K. Simmons

My Anti-Pick: I could bully American Sniper here again except that if Whiplash doesn’t take it, I wouldn’t mind American Sniper winning. I give it to Whiplash because of the tight frenetic percussive edits (that are NOT MY TEMPO) building the tension beautifully.

Foreign Language Film

I usually seek these out. All of them. Every year they are all fantastic. But I didn’t see any of them. However, this category more than any other is fraught with global politics. I might as well just pick a country. (don’t pretend that’s not the way people do it)

My Pick: Argentina 

My Anti-Pick: Russia

Make-up and Hairstyling

I haven’t seen Foxcatcher but I’ve seen the other two however I feel Foxcatcher wins by a nose… (see what I did there) Only 3 of these this year. More movies are using effects instead of make-up. (I’m looking at you Dawn of the Planet of the Apes)

My Pick: Bill Corso and Dennis Liddiard for Foxcatcher (still haven’t seen it)

My Anti-Pick: It’s possible this will be another of The Grand Budapest Hotel wins and I wouldn’t be mad at that at all.

Music – Original Score

4 out of 5. Great music all around. Alexandre Desplat does great work in both The Imitation Game and The Grand Budapest Hotel and of course the great Hans Zimmer does some powerful composing for Interstellar however…

My Pick: Jóhann Jóhannsson for The Theory of Everything

Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones

My Anti-Pick: Anything else but that. The Theory of Everything… all day long.

Music – Original Song

Does anyone not think the song from Selma isn’t not gonna not win. Cause I don’t even know what I’m talking about. This one is a done deal. Come on.

My Pick: “Glory” from Selma

My Anti-Pick: EVERYTHING IS AWESOME (I think this was another joke nomination)

Production Design

4 out of 5 (haven’t seen Mr Turner) but this one is also a no-brainer. Production design is a Wes Anderson film’s major selling point and The Grand Budapest Hotel is gorgeous.

My Pick: Adam Stockhausen (Production Design); Anna Pinnock (Set Decoration) for The Grand Budapest Hotel

Ralph Fiennes

My Anti-Pick: Into The Woods because, you know, cheesy looking.

Here I’m gonna skip the two Short Film categories because I just don’t have the time to watch a short film… on the internet… for free… (I suck)

Sound Editing and Sound Mixing

4 out of 5 watched for both (just not Unbroken) and also for both of these categories I’m giving the prize to Interstellar.

Sound Editing: Richard King for Interstellar

Sound Mixing: Gary A. Rizzo, Gregg Landaker and Mark Weingarten for Interstellar

Visual Effects

I’ve seen all of these. Every year these are always movies that I see on opening day. And this is another no-brainer. Obviously Interstellar has the best visual effects of the year.

My Pick: Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott Fisher for Interstellar

Matthew McConaughey in Interstellar

My Anti-Pick: I love all of these movies. I wouldn’t be mad if Dawn of the Planet of the Apes stole this one for its amazing motion-capture apes.

Andy Serkis

And finally… My two favorite categories every year… writing.

Writing – Adapted Screenplay

5 out of 5 (don’t be jealous). This one isn’t difficult for me. I give it to Whiplash. One of the best scripts of the year. The Theory of Everything is good but Whiplash is sensational.

My Pick: Damien Chazelle for Whiplash

The Conductor

My Anti-Pick: Hey Academy! Don’t annoy me by giving this to anyone else. And if you give this to American Sniper or Inherent Vice, you’re gonna owe me a new TV because I’m gonna put my foot through it.

Writing – Original Screenplay

4 out of 5 (Okay I’m kind of embarrassed that I haven’t seen Foxcatcher yet. This has been a long post. What the hell have I been doing this whole time?)

This is the most difficult category of the year. Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) and Boyhood are neck and neck. Birdman because it is insanely well-written and Boyhood because it is such a great idea (and all that good stuff)

So the winner of the most important award of the year is…

Drum roll…

My Pick: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo for Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Birdman Poster

My Anti-Pick: Boyhood and I’ll tell you why. Because while I think it’s the best picture of the year, I don’t think it’s the best written or best directed. I know that sounds weird but I’d say it’s the best movie based on the concept alone. And people need to stop bad-mouthing it. Birdman, however, is better in every single way except in total. Boyhood is better in total. (You have to imagine me making a large globe with my hands when I say “In total”) Say it with me. Birdman is better than Boyhood in every way except in total.

And that’s my picks.

Enjoy the Oscars everybody. (take a drink every time someone comments about how there are no black nominees in any of the major categories… I know I will)

– Mel

7 thoughts on “Oscar Picks and Anti-Picks 2015

  1. Some good choices here..liked it & I feel you’re one of the few ppl like me who just realize that Boyhood is an average movie..with a brilliant idea/concept behind it. Thank goodness!! 🙂 Same with Selma..I’ve done my countdown to the Oscars..and end with Best Picture on Sunday..and now you need to get out to the movies and see them ALL!! If I can do it..you can do it!! ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Best Picture

    Will win: Birdman
    Should win: Whiplash
    Anti pick: American Sniper, The Imitation Game, The Theory of Everything (not a fan)

    Best Director
    Will win: Linklater or Inarritu
    Should win: Linklater
    Should be here: Fincher
    Anti pick: Bennett Miller and Morten Tyldum

    Best Actor

    Will win: Redmayne
    Should win: Keaton
    Anti pick: Cooper, Cumberbatch, Carell
    Should be here: Gyllenhaal, Oyelowo

    Best Actress:

    Will win: Moore
    Should win: Pike or Cotillard
    Should be here: Essie Davis

    Best Supporting Actor

    Will/should win: Simmons

    Supporting Actress:

    Will/should win: Arquette
    Should be here: Tilda Swinton

    Liked by 1 person

    • I missed on most of the technical stuff except editing and visual effects and costumes I wanted Emma Stone but Arquette was great and I wanted Whiplash for screenplay but Graham Moore was amazing. And of course I blew it on my best picture pick. I think I got like 70%. I was more surprised by how bad Neil Patrick Harris was. Tina and Amy have raised the bar substantially.

      Like

Leave a Reply

