Photos from Around the Block (The Walking Returns)

I went to my doctor’s office. Long story short,  he told me, I had to get out more. (no duh, professor. Med school wasn’t wasted on you). He’s good people.

So I walked home. I figured, I’m out – I’ll stay out. I took some pictures along the way. It was a beautiful day. Here are the ones… that are not the worst… ones.

To the pics…

No Barbecueing

No open fires or the police will open fire… typical.

I had a dream I was on 125th street.

I had a dream I was on 125th street.

First I had to take the subway.

But first I had to get on the subway.

No pictures.

No pictures in the subway please… typical.

Elevated Station

Elevated train stations are cool.

Fresh Fruit

Fresh Summer Fruits… on sale.

My doctor had this in his waiting room... very cool.

My doctor has this in his waiting room… “The Anatomy Lesson of Dr. Nicolaes Tulp” by Rembrandt… for a doctor’s office it’s very… sinister.

I'd rather have an understanding Heart Disease than one that was cold and aloof.

I’d rather have an understanding Heart Disease than one that was distant and aloof.

Time to go

I gave my fluids and then I ran… typical.

If I were less lazy, I would crop this one to isolate those eyes.

If I were less lazy, I would crop this one to isolate those eyes. They are so…

Sinister

… Sinister

Searching for Charlie Rangel, my representative. He hasn't answered his phone since the primary.

Searching for Charlie Rangel, my district’s representative. He hasn’t answered his phone since he won the primary election… typical.

I'm just going to leave this here. (why is the O on its side? Is it dead? What are they really trying to say?)

I’m just going to leave this here. (but tell me, why is the O on its side? Is it dead? What are you really trying to say, West Harlem Group?)  … sinister.

Hot day... closed pool.

Hot day… closed pool… typical.

Congressman Rangel, why are the pools closed? Mr. Rangel, answer the question.

Congressman Rangel, why are the pools closed? Sir, answer the question… typical.

Sweep the house clean in 2014.

Sweep the house clean in 2014… (Oh now you take my call)

This was in one of the offices.

This was in one of the offices. This post’s gotten strangely political.

Harlem

Harlem buildings are gorgeous in the hazy sun.

Harlem

This Harlem neighborhood could use some color.

Harlem

Harlem block with Harlem kids and trees.

Harlem

Harlem Street. How many ways can they tell you you’re not welcome.

Harlem

Harlem people doing Harlem stuff.

New York City

The Harlem View

Jack hammer dude is ...sinister.

Jack hammer dude is not sinister… he’s working.

Empty bleachers are always sinister.

Empty bleachers are always sinister.

Flower Gardens are never sinister.

Flower Gardens are never sinister.

Moon Dome is sinister.

But that moon dome sure is sinister.

"Stop pretending to be the moon!"

“Stop pretending to be the moon you… DOME!”

Cars and Trees

Cars and trees and folks

More cars, more trees

More cars, more trees… no folks

Metalwork

Metalwork.

Stonework

Stonework.

Schoolwork

Schoolwork.

I don't know why I love this picture.

I don’t know why, but I love this picture.

Empty Street

Empty street. Guess everybody went home… typical.

There's my ride home.

And there’s my ride. (brought to you by a lizard with a British accent… sinister, yet also oddly typical)

And that’s all I got.

Stay healthy America.

– Mel

3 thoughts on “Photos from Around the Block (The Walking Returns)

  1. Dude I think I totally saw that airplane today on my way home. It flew over the Bronx. Love this photo essay, it was one of my favorites, I don’t know why. I guess It just wasn’t very typical.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Best of the Blog 2014 | Mel Rook & The 7 Deadly Sins

Leave a Reply

