The Wind and The Water (for Maya)

Maya Angelou

we are the wind and the water
when we are weak
we drink in dreams
we breathe out a world
we have come to mourn
the death of my will
my missing piece
my missing self
and words

you see
I no longer have the will
to do much of anything
I can barely summon the effort it takes
to breathe air
or to drink water
I am weak
we are wind and water
when we are weak
and without will
I am only words

this hunger grows
this hunger grows
this hunger is the only call
my body answers or will
but even that has to scream
until my head aches
to gain my attention
feed us
feed us
feed us
(how does Chinese sound to you guys?)

we are hunger
and I don’t feel it
we are thirst
and I don’t quench it
we are missing in action
missing
inaction
and it feels like I don’t care
call it what you will
but it takes too much effort to care
and words

so I try to sleep
but sleep is even harder
and morning is inevitable
and night will waste away
but I will not mourn
the loss of day
or night
for I no longer have the will to morn
the will to night
the will to blame
my loss of will
on weakness alone
and words

Is this all I am?

Question:
a man who can not finish a thing?

Answer:
a man who won’t accomplish a thing

Question:
with this weakness I am?

Answer:
a boy,
the least significant
the most ordinary

a boy
his life taken for granted
ignoring wind
and water
and words

Is this the image I am?
moreover a child
helpless and alone
forever a boy
feckless and afraid
but never a man
without will
only words
and words
and words I have always been

I write them down
and wither away
without will
unfed
without will
unseen
without will
unloved
without will
I write them down
and words

I may not have the energy for worldly concerns
I may be too weak to face the storm
or not be washed away by the tide
but the wind and the water will carry my words
even when I’m gone
words like energy are forever
words like time capsules
words like bottled messages
words like waves of sound
echo inexhaustibly in the ether

dehydrated and starved
I write
passing out from a lack of oxygen
I write
without will or a way to save myself
I write
even from myself
I write
and words
I write
and dreams
I write
and still
I write them down

we are the wind and the water
when we are weak
we are breath
and we are bodies
but without will
I am only words

– Mel

for Maya

One thought on “The Wind and The Water (for Maya)

  1. Pingback: Best of the Blog 2014 | Mel Rook & The 7 Deadly Sins

Leave a Reply

