Five Favorite Foreign Filmmakers from Five Regions 5/5 (Latin American Edition)

You thought I’d forgotten. Didn’t you.

So far we’ve travelled to Asia, Europe, The UK & Canada

There are only two installments left in my Five Favorite Foreign Filmmakers from Five Regions Series. (For a total of six… don’t ask)

This time out… Latin America (actually, as it turned out, just Mexico & Brazil)

This one was by far the hardest to compile and made me want to drop the thing all together. Latin American Film became Mexico and Brazil by the end. And Robert Rodriguez is not on this list as an American of Mexican decent. However the five directors listed are among the most lyrical and sublime artists in the world.

Let’s just go straight to the list…

Guillermo del Toro (Mexico)Guillermo Del ToroThe first Mexican director on the list is the great Guillermo del Toro and I truly love his movies for their fantastically creative and imaginative detail and the artistry and beauty he brings to his creatures. Pan’s Labryrinth is still one of my favorite films and my favorite of his, but he has proven that he can bring that same creativity to comic book movies like Hellboy or Blade II and horror films and monster movies and more. He’s one of a handful of directors that can get me in the theater with just his name.

Here are 5 perfect Sci-fi, Fantasy & Horror movies 

Pan’s Labyrinth (2006)

Pan's Labyrinth
Hellboy (2004)

Hellboy
Pacific Rim (2013)

Pacific Rim
Blade II (2002)

Blade II
Mimic (1997)

Mimic

Mimic is classic del Toro. Severely under-rated and beautifully horrific. Cockroaches creep me out but after watching this, the little buggers got nothing on me. “You hear that roaches?” Ha ha. Oh my god, you think they heard me?

Alfonso Cuaron (Mexico)Alfonso-CuaronNext up the great Alfonso Cuaron also from Mexico. He is a true storyteller. A visual artist who creates living novels. With Children of Men & Prisoner of Azkaban being two of my favorite adaptations. And whose film Gravity may earn him the Academy Award.

Here are 4 perfectly wonderful films

Y Tu Mamá También (2001)

Y Tu Mama Tambien

Harry Potter & the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)

Harry Potter
Children of Men (2006)

Children-of-Men
Gravity (2013)

Gravity

Gravity may not win the Academy Award for Best Director for Alfonso Cuaron but he will win one of these times out. He just gets better and better.

Walter Salles (Brazil)Walter-SallesThe first Brazilian on the list is one of my favorite directors; the incredible Walter Salles. His adaptations of The Motorcycle Diaries and On The Road are two of my favorite movies and two of my favorite inspirations to create. That I can put on either of these films and paint and write and compose is the best compliment I can give. They make me want to make art. They make me HAVE to make art.

Here are 2 (just two) of the most beautiful things ever recorded on film

The Motorcycle Diaries (2004)The Motorcycle Diaries
On The Road (2012)

On The Road

On The Road is one of my top films from 2012. I can just leave it on in the background and it speaks to me. It says, “Leave something behind when you go.” I miss the road. Some of my best memories are travelling memories. But these days I ain’t going nowhere without my luggage.

Alfonso Arau (Mexico)Alfonso ArauAlfonso Arau is next on the list with his wonderfully passionate films; Like Water For Chocolate and A Walk in the Clouds. Both deliciously romantic and breezily seductive films. But the incredibly sensual Like Water for Chocolate is my favorite by far. These are films to put you in the mood for loving (if you’re a romantic like me). Please excuse the picture of him acting. It’s just such a great shot.

Here are 2 visually romantic cinematic poems that are perfect.

Like Water for Chocolate (1992)Like Water For Chocolate
A Walk in the Clouds (1995)

A Walk in the Clouds

Alfonso Arau makes sexy sexy films.

Fernando Meirelles  (Brazil)

Fernando MeirellesThe last director on the list is also Brazilian. Fernando Meirelles takes us away from Science Fiction and Adaptation toward hardcore and serious drama. City of God, a film that blew me away with its honest and unflinching look at the gangs of the lawless suburb of Rio de Janeiro, is not for the faint of heart.

Here is one incredibly powerful film.

City of God (2002)

City of God

City of God is so good. And so fucked up.

city_of_godAnd so that was our little film trip south to Brazil & Mexico. All of these movies (except for Gravity) are available to rent or stream. I recommend them all.There is a lot of entertainment on this page. Some with subtitles and some in English but all amazing.

Infact, I recommend all of the films from this series.

To recap… The five regions I covered ended up being Asia, Europe, the UKCanada & Latin America but there were five directors left that did not fit in any of these regions. From Africa, Russia, Australia. So I stretched it to six installments and that very list is coming soon. The five great directors that were left but would not be left behind.

Rules were made to be broken.

That’s right. Last in this series of five: Chapter Six… The Rest of the World.

Go rent some movies.

– Mel

7 thoughts on “Five Favorite Foreign Filmmakers from Five Regions 5/5 (Latin American Edition)

  1. Pingback: Five Favorite Foreign Filmmakers from 5 Regions (Part Six: The Rest of the World) | Mel Rook & The 7 Deadly Sins

Leave a Reply

