Photos from Around the Block 9 (Chasing the Sun)

Today I went outside. Well… I had to trick myself into going outside. I didn’t need anything from the store but wanted to take pictures. So I told myself that I needed bagels.

Didn’t actually need bagels. Didn’t even want bagels. But I made myself believe there was a shortage of bagels in my life and out I went.

However by the time my inner dialogue ended and I stepped outside, the sun was on its way down. Summer is over. I had waited too long and I’d have to start earlier next time around. But I wasn’t going to let this jaunt outside my haunt go to waste.

I would have to chase the sun.

Here are the pics.

Hey, it's not like I smoke everyday. Or did you mean that patch of dirt there?

Hey, it’s not like I smoke everyday. Or did you mean that patch of dirt there?

I'm surrounded by buildings and hills so it gets late early around here.

I’m surrounded by buildings and hills so it gets late early around here.

Summer is over and all of the little turtle kids are back in their shells.

Summer is over and all of the little turtle kids are back in their shells wishing they could be outside playing.

All the leaves are gone.

All the leaves are brown gone and the sky is grey a gorgeous shade of blue.

This is one of my neighbors. It's a little blurry but he was so cute.

This is one of my neighbors. It’s a little blurry but he was so cute.

Speaking of blurry. I still like this one a lot.

Speaking of blurry. I still like this one a lot. It’s kind of a mind fuck.

As the sun sets, the colors are beautiful even as the light dies.

As the sun sets, the colors are beautiful. They are more vivid and alive as the light dies.

Before the street lamps are lit, I chase the sun.

Before the street lamps are lit, I chase the sun.

There's my ride.

There’s my ride.

Wait, where are you going? I guess I was wrong.

Wait, where are you going?  (Guess there was no room)

Chasing the sun on my favorite pretty place of worship.

Chasing the sun on my favorite pretty place of worship.

big cross, little cross

big cross, little cross

Construction Trio

Construction trio getting it done before quitting time.

Yellow Hat gets his own pic.

Yellow hat gets his own pic. Don’t ask me why.

The hills hide the sunset

The hills hide the setting sun.

Chasing the sun through the shadows. It's much too fast for me.

Chasing the sun through the shadows. It’s much too fast for me.

Half of you are going the wrong way. "The sun is going that way!" I need an airplane.

Half of you are going the wrong way. “The sun is going that way!”

That's more like it. "Follow that sun."

Now, that’s more like it. “Follow that sun.”

And now for some celebratory… bagels? Nope

I still have Butter Pecan Ice Cream in my freezer.

Now, that’s more like it.

’til next time,

– Mel

Leave a Reply

