Photos from Around the Block (Primary Edition)

I voted in the Primary Election today. Took my camera with me. It was hot & humid. But I walked up the hill to my polling place and voted in the three races that I knew something about. Left the other ones blank. I refuse to vote based on the name alone. In the November General Election, I will vote in every race. First based on knowledge and then based on party and then based on gender (We need more women in elected office). But if there are two women (or men) both Democrats and I’m not informed enough to make an intelligent decision, I do the responsible thing in those cases, I hold my nose and just pick the second name. YOUR ALPHABETIC SUPERIORITY ENDS TODAY.

Here are the pictures.

In my neighborhood, we vote on private property. While I was taking pictures I was asked to leave. I said, "I'm documenting the voting experience.

In my neighborhood, we vote on private property. While I was taking these pictures I was asked to leave. I told them, “I’m documenting the voting experience.” They understood.

The route is not clearly marked. You have to know where you are going to find the polling place and even then it's hidden.

The route is not clearly marked. You have to know where you’re going to find the polling place and even then it’s well hidden. Don’t let these signs fool you.

This is the only sign on the way up the hill. If you miss it, you're out of luck.

This is the only sign on the way up the hill. If you miss it, you’re out of luck.

This parking lot is for residents only. And once you're through the gate, there are no signs. The door is up the stairs behind the cars.

This parking lot is for residents only. And once you’re through the gate, there are no signs. The doorway is in the back up the stairs behind the cars. There are no signs.

There was one sign. Love the parenthesis.

Actually there was one sign. This little pink one was hiding near the ground. Love the parenthesis. The designer of this sign gets a big ol’ LOL from me.

Up there. That's the door. This is my eighth year. So I knew where it was. My first year I wandered around the building for half an hour... looking for it.

Up there. That’s the door. This is my eighth year. So, I knew where it was. My first year, I wandered around the building for half an hour… looking for it.

It's so clearly marked and inviting. No, really, we want you to vote.

It’s so clearly marked and inviting. No, really, we want you to vote.

They also keep it locked. The first year I tried the door. Thought it must be a laundry room, so I kept looking. How about a fucking sign?

They also keep it locked. The first year I tried the door. Thought it must be a laundry room or something, so I kept looking. How about a fucking sign?

Once inside I took one picture of the room and was told I couldn’t take pictures. They had replaced the electronic machines of the General Election with the lever machines of the past. I asked why and they said they only use the computers for the General. I like the big, physical, lever machines better. But what do I know. I wanted to show you guys the new booths, the ones with no privacy. I think they make it harder for people to vote their conscience, with a controlling and dominant spouse able to look at your picks in these open booths. You can’t tell me that wasn’t the point. Secret ballot my ass.

Here’s the cropped & blurry picture… they can all bite me.

Bored of Elections?

Enough of that. I took some more pics on my way to the store for celebratory ice cream.

School Bus

Friendly Neighborhood School Bus Driver is a cutie.

Hydrant on the Hill

Hydrant on the Hill

Hydrant II: The Sequel

Hydrant II: The Sequel

Girders and Trees

Girders and Trees

Flowers in the Shop Window

Flowers in the Shop Window

A closer look.

A closer look.

Post no Bills

Post no bills on this padlocked shop.

Cash for Cars

Cash for Cars. Cash for Cars. Then I noticed that in my neighborhood, every fifth car was for sale. They know their market.

That’s all I have this time out.

Gonna have ice cream (butter pecan)

See you guys next week.

– Mel

5 thoughts on “Photos from Around the Block (Primary Edition)

  1. You made a proper occasion out of voting. I like that. There should be live music, food stalls, fire-breathers, mime artists, general hoopla. Primaries are for voting your conscience, the real thing is when you usually have to hold your nose and go for the least worst.

    Like

    • I like how they do it in Australia. If you don’t vote, you get fined. We need something like that here. I dream of an informed and involved electorate. We will remain screwed otherwise.

      Like

Leave a Reply

