Exhibit A (Try Not To Stare)

I am on exhibit at the Bronx Zoo.

Children stop and stare
Wishing they could grow up
But not grow old.

Adults pass by quickly
Knowing what it’s like to grow old
But not grow up.

I wait to be fed.

I am on exhibit at the Museum of Modern Art.

The guide calls me an important work.
Signed, Certified and Numbered.
A Limited Edition.

The plaque reads:
Unknown Subject Number 3,471,955,134.
Unremarkable.

I am on exhibit at Disney World.

I am an animatronics display
Showing the perils of drug use,
Not staying in school
And not taking life seriously
While playing with fire.
On a track and on an endless loop
Until it closes for repair.

I am a ride with no line and no ticket
And only room for one
That is at times
Thrilling,
Romantic
And fun
And at other times
A straight flat slow trip
From one side of the park to the other
And back again.

I am on exhibit at a Televised Murder Trial.

I am Exhibit A:
The murder weapon
Used to kill the dream

I am the dreamer

I am Exhibits B – E:
The so-called smoking gun
The iron-clad alibi
The powerful motive
And the suicide note

I am every member of the hung jury
And I am the judge that declares a mistrial,
Clearing the court room in anger.
There was no crime.

I am on exhibit at the Museum of Natural History.

Behind a sign that reads,
The Human Being:
Kind, Creative, Complex;
I sit at my computer writing
Whatever comes to mind.

Behind a sign that reads,
The Human Mind:
Anxious, Angry, Arrogant;
I sit at my computer writing
Whatever comes to mind.

Behind a sign that reads,
The Human Animal:
Hungry, Horny, Heart-broken;
I sit at my computer writing
Whatever comes to mind.

Behind a sign that reads,
The Human Spirit:
Passionate, Peaceful, Present;
I sit at my computer,
In a replica of my living room,
Writing whatever comes to mind.

I am on exhibit at the World’s Fair.

Here we see Mel at 10 years old
Not knowing who he is

And this is Mel at 20
Not appreciating who he is

And here’s Mel at 30
Not liking who he is

And if you look to your left,
You will find a mirror on the wall
Placed there for your convenience.
That’s Mel today
Not remembering who he is.

“That’s me?”

Yep

“Hi Mel.”

Try not to stare.

– Mel

7 thoughts on “Exhibit A (Try Not To Stare)

  1. Wonderful! Has a lot of Buddhist imagery of being connected with everything, the concept of identity, what is the self and not-self. I loved it I’m going to read a few more times.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Journal of the Man in the Box 2 | Mel Rook & The 7 Deadly Sins

Leave a Reply

