My Top 5 Movies Where The Earth Blows Up

SPOILER ALERT.

In honor of the end of the Mayan Calendar & the fools that think that it somehow means that the world is going to blow up, here are My Top Five Movies Where The Earth Blows Up. And in every one of these movies it blows up good. (I said SPOILER ALERT didn’t I?)

The first two are only mildly spoilerific because without the earth blowing up in the beginning, there is no movie. As for the other 3, it’s already a given that it’s going to happen. It’s on the posters.

To the list…

First up the only animated film on the list

5. Titan A.E. (2000)

Titan A.E

Starring Matt Damon, Drew Barrymore, Janeanne Garofalo, John Leguizamo, Nathan Lane & Bill Pullman.

Directed by Don Bluth & Gary Goldman

I really enjoyed this film. It has a great cast of voice actors and a good story.

In the future, the Earth is destroyed by an alien spaceship. It happens early in the movie.

Next up the incomparable

4. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (2005)

Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy

Starring Martin Freeman, Stephen Fry, Zooey Deschanel, Mos Def, Alan Rickman, Bill Nighy & John Malkovich

Directed by Garth Jennings

Based on one of my favorite & one of the funniest science fiction series of all-time and written by one of my favorite authors; the amazing Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the galaxy is a lot of fun with a sensational cast.

A Vogon Constructor Fleet blows up the earth to make room for an Hyperspace Bypass (but not before all the dolphins leave the planet saying “So long and thanks for all the fish.”) very early in the film. But don’t panic, our hero hitches a ride, narrowly escaping the destruction.

The last three films all end with the earth exploding so get out now if you’re allergic to spoilers…

Still here?

You’ve been warned.

3.  Southland Tales (2006)

Southland Tales

Starring Seann William Scott, Dwayne Johnson, Sarah Michele Gellar, Mandy Moore, Justin Timberlake & Miranda Richardson

Directed by Richard Kelly

I’ve already blogged about how much I love this film here. It is a beautifully prophetic film. In fact, if the world were actually going to end, this would be one of the last films I watched. (Ooh there’s an idea for a blog post)

At the end of the film, time collapses in on itself and the world is destroyed. It’s not as explosive as the other four but it’s satisfying nonetheless. I will not attempt to explain why this happens because quite frankly I couldn’t.

Next up the oldest film on the list

2. Dr. Strangelove or: How I learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb (1964)

Dr. Strangelove

Starring Peter Sellers, George C. Scott & Slim Pickens

Directed by Stanley Kubrick

One of my favorite films by my all-time favorite director. I blog about him here.

The movie ends with a massive global nuclear war that destroys the world. Yeeeeeee Haw!

and finally. The most satisfying Earth destruction on film

1. Melancholia (2011)

Melancholia

Starring Kirsten Dunst, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Keifer Sutherland & Alexander Skarsgard

Directed by Lars von Trier

I absolutely love this film. The end of the world never looked so good. Kirsten Dunst, one of my favorite actresses, is absolutely sensational.

After slowly building up to it for the entire film, a rogue planet; Melancholia, collides with the Earth in the end.

And that’s my list of 5 great films where the Earth is destroyed. Hope you enjoyed it.

And looking back at the list, knowing that the Earth blows up only barely spoils one of these films (Dr. Strangelove). For the others, it is already known early on that it’s going to happen.

Happy Mayan Apocalypse Everyone.

See you all on the other side. (and by that I mean Saturday)

– Mel

6 thoughts on “My Top 5 Movies Where The Earth Blows Up

  1. Three of these – Titan AE, Southland Tales, and Melancholia – I’d never heard of, so thanks for the heads-up. I love a good apocalyptic movie. Having seen the BBC series of AHGTTG (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Hitchhiker's_Guide_to_the_Galaxy_(TV_series), I thought the film was nowhere near as good. Perhaps because the Britishness of the series didn’t translate to a Hollywood movie. (Think Google Translate). And Marvin in the series was the classic Paranoid Android – the film just didn’t get it right.

    Anyway, may your Post-Apocalypse be incandescent.

    Like

    • I loved the Hitchhiker’s series. It was a lot funnier than the movie. But it’s much easier to bring a book to TV than it is to make a movie. For one, you have more time so you can get into more character depth. So I agree it was better.

      I hope you enjoy those 3 films. They are 3 completely unique movies but I loved them all.

      Separately, I’ve been having trouble commenting on your blog. It keeps telling me to log in. Over & over & over. And I can’t seem to. The only way I can like one of your posts is through the WordPress reader. Not having the same problem on other blogs. Just yours. Can’t comment. Can’t like. Love your blog by the way.

      Thanks for the comment.

      Like

      • I’ve had the same sort of problem with some other WP blogs, though not recently. The knee-jerk reaction is to say it’s WP playing silly buggers again. But I’ll look at my settings and on the forums. As far as I know, you’re cleared for likes and comments, and I’m following your blog, so there shouldn’t be a problem. This may be a case for those elusive Happiness Engineers, whose name reminds me irresistibly of Brave New World.

        Thanks for the comments about my blog. You have a proper, unique, blogging voice, not like some of the cookie cutter stuff out there, and that’s why I follow you. And also why I’m glad you decided not to retire.

        Like

  2. Pingback: The Journal of the Man in the Box 2 | Mel Rook & The 7 Deadly Sins

Leave a Reply

