My World in Parts

I spend my time dissecting.
Dissecting words
Dissecting statements
Taking the things that you’ve said
And the things that I’ve said
And separating the verbs from the nouns
And the adjectives from their meanings

I spend my time dissecting.
Pulling apart books
To find the life changing chapter
The paragraph,
The word or two
You know the one I mean
Where is it?

I spend my time dissecting.
Life events
Current events
Catered affairs
Chance encounters
Is there something I could have done

Different

Differently?

Different. (I spend my time dissecting)

I spend my time dissecting
Art
Music
Movies
Humor
Fun
Why am I smiling?

And why is everyone laughing?

Did I miss the joke while I was too busy trying to figure out what makes it funny?

Great.

I spend my time dissecting
People
(that doesn’t sound quite right)
But you know what I mean
Everyone I know
Finding out
How they tick
Sexually,
Spiritually,
Mentally.
It’s a game

Friend,
I’d like you to meet microscope.

Microscope,
This used to be a friend of mine
From back before I started playing games

I spend my time dissecting
Every thing that enters my world

Every thing I see
Every thing I hear
Every thing I eat
Every thing that passes my lips

Deep breath
Shallow breath
Heavy sigh

I spend my time dissecting
But I haven’t found anything.

I haven’t found anything
That I didn’t expect to find
That I didn’t set out to find
or That I didn’t put there myself

There is no double super secret hidden meaning
To any of it
Just a whole mess of parts.

Bolts and
Screws and
Words and
Hearts and
Fears and
Emotions and
Magic and
Little bits of plastic everywhere.

And I don’t know where any of this shit goes.

I don’t know where any of this shit goes.

– Mel

 

Leave a Reply

