The Dark Knight Rises vs. The Avengers (Round 3)

Now that I have seen both movies…

The Directors

Joss Whedon vs. Christopher Nolan

I’m sorry kids I’m going to have to call this fight before it even begins.

There is no contest.

Joss Whedon, though I love him dearly, makes great TV.

Serenity is a fantastic made for TV movie. Genius and enjoyable. But in the end it’s just a super-sized double episode of Firefly. Crowd pleasing as hell, yes but nothing more. Avengers is the same but with a much much much bigger budget & higher-priced talent. Extra heavy on the crowd pleasing and a great time at the movies.

But Christopher Nolan makes films. Rich tapestries. Carefully woven stories. Movies that make you think.  And make you pay attention. Amazingly well-made movies. Like all 3 Batman films, Inception, Memento & more

The Dark Knight Rises is, in my opinion, a better film than the Avengers in almost every way.

It will not make as much money but it is better.

Where The Avengers is an amusement park ride that once its over you want to get back in line and go again (A lot of fun and will make shit-tons of money). The Dark Knight Rises is a story. It’s a novel that you will want to pick up over and over discovering something new each time. It rounds out the trilogy so beautifully that they become one amazing Batman story.

Batman Begins (which I like more since the third movie) The Dark Knight (a great film even without Heath Ledgers’ performance) & The Dark Knight Rises form my 3rd favorite trilogy of all-time.

(after Star Wars & Lord of the Rings but if you didn’t know that by now, where you been?)

And the great performances, another mark of a Christopher Nolan film are there as well. This one has great turns by Anne Hathaway & Marion Cotillard & Joseph Gordon Levitt but all three films have wonderful acting from Michael Caine, Morgan Freeman, Gary Oldman & Christian Bale among others.

Did I say yet that I loved The Dark Knight Rises?

I loved The Dark Knight Rises.

Especially Anne Hathaway.

She is outstanding.

But I was already in love with her. Now it’s just official.

And Tom Hardy as Bane is immensely enjoyable.

Though I would have liked a better voice for him, (It sounded sometimes like he was speaking off camera) he does a sensational job with the character and the character’s emotions without ever having to show his face.

And before I start getting into spoilers, I’m going to end it right there.

But suffice it to say the ending of this movie made me do a little dance in my seat (and it wasn’t because I had to go pee… it’s 2 & a half hours long so it wasn’t ENTIRELY because I had to go pee)

– Mel

P.S. spoilers are allowed in the comments section

 

3 thoughts on “The Dark Knight Rises vs. The Avengers (Round 3)

    • Thanks. Me too. This summer was billed as The Avengers vs The Dark Knight Rises Summer, and The Avengers is so much fun, but The Dark Knight Rises makes The Avengers seem like a Saturday morning cartoon.

      Like

  1. Pingback: End of Year Review: The Good The Bad The Ugly & The Movies from 2012 MEGAPOST « Mel Rook & The 7 Deadly Sins

Leave a Reply

