Losing weight slowly but keeping it off

I know everyone has their own weight loss advice but I’ll tell you guys what worked for me. I used to be 270 lbs. I’m 180 now and the bulk of it left me in the first 3 months. And I’ve kept it off.

As far as exercise goes, I started excruciatingly slow. I spent a minute on the stationary bike the first day. And that was it. I added a minute a day and always stopped when the time was up. This helped me to not get discouraged with the early workout pain and frustration that always occurs and it made sure that I got back on the bike the next morning. Once I reached my desired workout duration (30 minutes after a month) I began to vary my activity. Yoga one day, running one day, weights one day and stretching stretching stretching. But I had built up the habit of getting up and exercising before my shower every morning by starting really really slowly. (Only my knee surgery put a halt to it and now I just do the low impact stuff)

As far as diet goes, everyone’s different but I’m a sit-down-and-have-an-impossibly-large-meal-with-meat-and-potatoes type of guy. So when I go grocery shopping I get tons of snack foods. Healthy things. Like fruits, nuts, rice cakes, veggies that can be eaten raw. Did you know you burn more calories eating celery or raisins than either has? So I’m constantly munching munching munching and meal time is just another snack. Even then I try to eat whole grains and colorful vegetables and very little meat and nothing processed. Just real foods. But as long as I stay active I don’t have to worry about what I eat just how much I eat.

My only problem with snacking is snacking late. I really shouldn’t eat too close to bedtime because my dreams get so weird and late meals turn into fat overnight.

The biggest secret, however, with both exercise and diet is tons of water. Water. A lot of the time we feel like we want food but water is really what we need. Someone once told me that food is something you crave in your mouth (that sounded dirty). On the tongue. A taste sensation (Better). And that empty feeling in the gut is a need for liquid, for water. Most people think it’s the opposite. But if you’re eating to fill your stomach you’re doing it wrong and if your mouth is dry, it’s past the time that you should have taken a drink.

But as I stated earlier everyone is different. And I know I’m talking long-term while a lot of dieters want just a quick intense boot camp to reach a small goal. (Good luck with that because crash diets don’t stick) But If you want to change for good you have to think long term and slow is always more sustainable.

Oh yeah and I cheat.

I built cheating into my diet. It used to be once a month, usually a holiday weekend, when I could eat whatever I wanted but now it’s every 2 months that I have myself a cheat weekend. Holidays are a good time to schedule them because everyone else is pigging out and because they’re awful. They really suck the life out of me. (both holidays and cheat weekends) I still look forward to them but I feel like shit afterwards (still talking about both). Because once you’ve eaten healthy for a while you can totally taste the death and sadness in processed foods. Did I really used to eat this crap? It’s making me sick. And it’s making me cry. So why do I keep craving it? But that’s not a physical thing or even a dietary one, that’s a subject for my therapist.

-Gluttony

One thought on “Losing weight slowly but keeping it off

  1. When I lost the first 88 lbs, that’s pretty much how I did it…that was 2 years ago…and I’ve struggled with the last 25 ever since my youngest was born…when I get stuck, I like to do something to sort of jumpstart myself…but nothing like a crash diet – cleanses, fasts, stuff like that just seems crazy to me…Great job losing so much weight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

